Grief / Loss Issues

Grief is a natural process to death, dying and loss. It is not pathological in nature, but rather, is a necessary response to helping heal from the overwhelming sense of loss when a loved one dies.

The Elisabeth Kubler Ross model overviews five stages that a person can go through when feeling the pain of grief and loss:

  • Denial
  • Bargaining
  • Anger
  • Depression
  • Acceptance

Counseling is a good way to be supported as you deal with the loss in your life. There are also support groups for those dealing with loss that can be found in your community.


Help is only a phone call away, Call the Sykes Group at
(815) 823-8460 to schedule an appointment.

While beginning counseling is a major step, it is a sign of strength. Today many individuals, couples and families are entering counseling to improve their quality of life.



Adjustment Issues
Grief and Loss
Marital Problems
Parent Child Problems
PTSD (Post-traumatic stress disorder)
Eating Disorders